senior project

General discussion area. A place to take a break and share your buggy world with others.
Gene-C

senior project

Post by Gene-C »

Hi i am new to the site just joined today. I am a junior in high school and need to start thinking about a senior project. I have always liked the look of old school bugs and such. I wanted to build or restore a Fiberglassed body dune buggy with a vw motor. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. i am new to vw engines but my parents owned a carmengia convertible so they can help with the basics. i need to know where the cheapest place to get frames/bodies. Also being a junior working a part time job at minimum wage i dont have much money so this is on a very strict budget.Thank You
fubar

Post by fubar »

Your best bet is to get something that is complete and restore it. Parts will kill a budget, labor you can afford to do as you learn. I have seen complete but ugly buggies go in the $500 range. You can spend an unlimited amount of money on just the motor. I would focus on making a clean and safe rolling chassis and hope someone gets excited and donates a motor or enough cash to refresh one. If you get something post a wish list on this site, one persons junk is another persons tresure. Good luck and don't give up, chicks dig buggies.
shaihulud

Post by shaihulud »