Baja Build

General discussion area. A place to take a break and share your buggy world with others.
Gene-C

Baja Build

Post by Gene-C »

Well.....i cut out the the floor pans last night, gotta love a saws-all with a new blade, and ordered a new front beam for my baja set up. Really trying to do a Meyers Manx Baja build here but im totally stupid. This is my first build and im not sure where to go or whats i need in what order. As far as the welding, fabricating, roll cage, frame stuff, thats not a problem. Te main problem is that i open up a magazine and see all these cool parts, but im not sure wheich ones i need or not..........so i call the place and get a hold of people who are never ever enthusiastic about what im doing, which in turns means that they are no thelpful at all. So here i am stuck. What i want is the same set up as in the baja manx that Bruce and others build. Hopefully someone here can help, youve always answered questions in the past for a dumb newbie like me. Thanks in advance.
Gene-C

Post by Gene-C »

No problem! Just get ahold of SCORE Class 5[?] which is VW pan class. Search for webpages and you'll see what it takes to run well...
GotManx

Post by GotManx »

All of the suspension parts for the Baja Manxter were from McKenzie's (http://www.mckenzies.com) in Anaheim, CA. They sell quality parts and have helpful people working there. The basics for the baja car suspension was a stock width beam, 8" towers, 2 1/2" longer and 4" wider trailing arms up front and 3x3 microstub trailing arms with 27mm torsion bars in the rear.
Gene-C

Post by Gene-C »

see, thats what i love about this whole buggy thing....the support....thanks a ton guys.
Gene-C

Post by Gene-C »